Marijuana, aka: weed, pot, grass, ganja, smoke, and mary jane is a schedule one drug. Marijuana drug related charges in the state of Texas are serious and penalties for these charges are harsh. In many cases, marijuana will only incur a misdemeanor. This does not make that charges related to the drug should be taken lightly.
Marijuana is not a joke in the state of Texas and penalties for possession, sales and distribution of the drug can result in fines of tens of thousands of dollars an years in prison. The possessing party can expect to have their livelihood and personal way of life thrown into a loop and the only way to avoid harsh penalties is to get quality legal counsel immediately.
Kathy Holton can help you achieve the best outcome for your case. She will guide you on the best steps to take and how to handle you current situation. Marijuana possession in the state of Texas applies to the manufactured plant, seed and plants in ground or any part of it being prepared for sales and distribution. A single joint, green buds, or hash oil are all illegal substances in the state of Texas and will incur penalties served by a court of law.
Marijuana Possession Charges and Penalties
- 2 oz or less of the drug is considered a class B misdemeanor and will result in no more than 180 days in jail and a fine of $2,000 or less.
- 2-4 oz of weed is a class A misdemeanor and will result in no more than a year in jail and a fine of not more than $4,000.
- 4-5 oz of pot is a state felony and will be served from 180 days to 2 years in prison as well as a fine of no more than $10,000.
- 50-2000 pounds of weed is considered a second degree felony and will result in 2-20 years in prison and a fine of not more than $10,000.
- Over 2,000 pounds of weed will result in enhanced first degree felonies and prison time will be from 5-99 years in prison and a fine of not more than $50,000.
All marijuana related charges in the state of Texas can result in a suspended license. The suspension can last for up to 6 months of time.
How Your Case Unfolds
With Kathy Holton representing you, as a first time offender you can expect a dismissal of any possession charges of 2 oz or less as long as you agree to attend a drug treatment program.
Drug treatment programs are better known as drug diversion and are meant to help less dangerous defendants and leave harsh penalties for any defendants that pose a very serious threat to society.
Another option is a drug court; defendants facing marijuana charges may attend one of these specialized courts in an attempt to avoid any permanent marks on their record.
Get a Free Consultation
Contact Kathy Holton today to get advice on your current situation and to determine the best route to take for your options. Kathy will also help you understand the types of penalties you’re facing and how to avoid them.